Department of State Development
  • Participate in the Middle East and North Africa business mission

South Australia and Middle East and North Africa (MENA) relationship

The South Australian Government is focusing on countries in the MENA regions that include; Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Oman, Saudi Arabia, Iran and Egypt.

The region accounts for approximately 222 million people and is characterised by a young and educated population.

The economies of the MENA region have traditionally been highly dependent on natural resources such as oil and gas. A shared challenge for many of these countries is diversifying their economies away from this sector and investing in new industries to progress economic and social development, which presents many opportunities for South Australian companies.

The MENA region is not a commercially new area for South Australia. In the 2015-16 financial year South Australia sold $651 million of goods to the region.

Key exports include agriproducts such as grains, oil seeds and vegetables, fresh meat, live animals, motor vehicles and base metals. There is significant potential to increase services exports in the areas of education, mining, energy and resources, healthcare, water management and tourism, in line with the policy priorities of Governments.

South Australia – MENA Action Plan

A South Australia-MENA Action Plan is currently under development to establish a framework for forging closer relations. Implementation of the Action Plan will encourage greater support for South Australian businesses to enter the MENA export market, while also building international connections and strategic Government partnerships for effective commercial engagement.


See opportunities in each country


Want to know more?

A dedicated team is on hand to support businesses looking to export to MENA.